Home Quality Mark

The Home Quality Mark (HQM) is a national standard for new homes, which uses a simple 5-star rating to provide impartial information from independent experts on a new home’s design, construction quality and running costs. 

For further information and details of the standard, please visit www.homequalitymark.com.

To be listed below, a HQM assessor must be qualified and licensed.

To obtain a HQM qualification, an assessor must successfully complete HQM training. This requires competence in both the assessment process, and the technical issues covered in the standard.   


For more information on training to be a HQM assessor, please see www.bre.co.uk/academy/hqm.

The role of the assessor is to independently assess a home’s performance against the standard. This requires them to interpret the requirements of each issue within the standard, communicate these requirements to their client, liaise with the project team to collate all necessary evidence, and produce an assessment report based on an auditable trail of evidence. 

HQM covers a multitude of disciplines and no single Assessor is necessarily a ‘technical’ expert in all the areas covered by the HQM.

Licensed HQM assessors are kept up to date with the latest developments in the scheme via communication direct from BREEAM.

Use the search facility below to find a HQM Assessor.

Scheme page

Search GBL

Search schemes for a specific product company or individual

Click here

Search GBL


E: Green Book Enquiries
T: +44 (0)333 321 88 11